About the Democracy Cup

Democracy CupEvery two years, colleges and universities from across Minnesota compete for the Democracy Cup. This award recognizes higher education institutions that have the highest student voting rate. 2020 was a year like no other, and college students across the state worked hard to educate their peers and boost voter turnout on their campuses. To honor and celebrate this work, join us on December 2nd, 2021 at 12 pm via Zoom.

This effort is co-sponsored by the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office, LeadMN (student association for public two year colleges), Students United (student association for four year state universities), Minnesota Student Association (student government for University of Minnesota), and the Minnesota Association of Private College Students, as well as the All In Campus Democracy Challenge and Minnesota Campus Compact.

Winners are determined by the colleges' and universities' voting rate according to the National Study of Learning, Voting and Engagement (NSLVE) at Tufts University. Institutions need to be enrolled in the program to be eligible for the Democracy Cup. The NSLVE is the largest study of student voter engagement with over 1,100 colleges and universities enrolled and has been tracking student voter participation since 2012.



Contact LeadMN Communications Coordinator Jocelyn Roof at jroof@leadmn.org.


democracy cup sponsors