Congratulations are in order!  The LeadMN Scholarship Board awarded twenty scholarships for the 2022 Fall Semester, totaling $17,000!  Several of the recipients are highlighted for you to read about them. 

LeadMN Leadership Scholarships

Sarah Banuelos, Century College
Sarah is pursuing the MANE Nursing Program. She founded the Single-Parent Resource & Support Club at Century College. Other passions of hers are the Open-Door Anxiety Support Group for Century Students, and volunteers in the Free Clinic and George Floyd Square Events. 

Hannah Fowler, Century College

Daniel Georgioff, Normandale Community College

Daysy Ortega, Metropolitan State University

Jenna Vagts, Saint Paul College

Rebecca Van Hal, Minnesota State University - Moorhead

Morrie Anderson Endowed Scholarship

Sarah Kessler, Bemidji State University
Sarah is pursuing a Bachelor Degree.  Her goal is to work for a nonprofit that makes a difference in people’s lives and makes the world a better place.  

John Kenneth Niemi Memorial Tool Fund Scholarship

Cael Degener, Dakota County Technical College
Cael is enrolled in the HVAC/R program and enjoys learning the trade with hands-on experiences and training.  He is looking forward to being a competent, skilled and valuable technician.  

John and Kathryn O'Brien Endowed Scholarship

Mbithe Musembi, Hennepin Technical College - Brooklyn Park
Mbithe moved to America from Kenya.  Pursuing the nursing program and becoming a nurse means to her being able to provide people with a better quality of life through treatment.  

Linda Olson Memorial Scholarship

Nicole Palmer, Metropolitan State University
Nicole is a graduate student pursuing the Master of Nonprofit Leadership and Management degree from Metropolitan State University.  By successfully completing this degree will allow her to pursue career and leadership opportunities in the nonprofit sector that are committed to diversity, equity, ethical leadership, community engagement, and social engagement

Christine Rice Annual Scholarships

Kailey Brynildson, Normandale Community College
Kailey’s goal is excited to become a dental hygienist and to build a strong relationship with her future patients.

Leanna Olson, Minneapolis Community and Technical College 

Laura Salciccia, Inver Hills Community College

Stephanie Rodgers, Anoka Technial College

Victoria Kayanja, Minneapolis College

Mark M. Welter 100% American Scholarships

Harley Hopkins, Minnesota State College Southeast – Winona
Harley and Dr. Mark Welter would get along very well.  Both of them believed that we should view diversity of any kind as a chance to learn and appreciate others.  Harley feels that diversity is a good thing, whether in the workplace, international relations, or life in general. He also added “that without diversity, we would not be where we are today and will not be able to grow as a country or as people.”

Kimmy Kistan, Saint Paul College

Jacob Petron, Itasca Community College

Juan Rengifo, Saint Paul College

Halie Skye, Metropolitan State University 

For all students who will still be attending a Minnesota State college or university for the 2022 Spring Semester, enrollment is open for the scholarships listed below.  The due date is November 1, 2022.

1.  LeadMN Leadership Scholarship
2.  McCormick Leadership Scholarship
3.  Linda Olson Memorial Scholarship
4.  Morrie Anderson Endowed Scholarship
5.  John Kenneth Niemi Memorial Tool Fund
6.  John and Kathryn O'Brien Scholarship
7.  Irja Sundgren Pratt Memorial Scholarship
8.  Warren H. Robens and Henry P. Dembiczak Endowed Scholarship
9.  Mark M. Welter 100% American Scholarship 
For additional information and applications, go to