Democracy CupEvery two years, colleges and universities from across Minnesota compete for the Democracy Cup. This award recognizes higher education institutions that have the highest voting rate for student voters.

This effort is co-sponsored by the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office, LeadMN (student association for public two year colleges), Students United (student association for four year state universities), Minnesota Student Association (student government for University of Minnesota), Minnesota Association of Private College Students and Minnesota Campus Compact.

Winners are determined by the college and universities voting rate according to the National Student for Learning, Voting and Engagement (NSLVE) at Tufts University. Institutions need to be enrolled in the program to be eligible for the Democracy Cup. The NSLVE is the largest study of student voter engagement with over 1,100 colleges and universities enrolled and has been tracking voting data since 2012.

The winner of the 2020 Minnesota Democracy Cup were awarded to these institutions. 

Four-year Public State University

Winona State University

Four-year Public University

University of Minnesota – Twin Cities

Two-year Public College

Inver Hills Community College

Four-year Private College

St. Olaf College